Do Cicadas Taste Like Cheetos?

This is what Chef WILL be eating!

PLEASE HEAD OVER TO OUR FACEBOOK PAGE AND LIKE US AFTER READING THIS POST!

So, I honestly never expected to hear that cicada ice cream is all the rage, but what do I know? I’m only a chef.

Sixteen Ways to Eat a Cicada: The Fine Art of Insect Cuisine

What I do know is that one should never ignore a potential food source during the z-poc, and cicadas are self-sustaining and easy to find during summer months, not to mention high in protein.
Interesting fact: the young nymphs are considered tastier and more “chewy,” while the adult cicadas are said to have a somewhat nutty flavor. Mmmm.

I personally don’t think I could muster the guts to harvest and eat these things on a regular basis, but when I’m in dire straits, all food preferences go out the window. It would be interesting to see what would happen if desperation set in. *gulp*

Tell you what folks, I’ll make a deal with you: if we can get up to 150 fans on Facebook by the end of Wednesday next week (6/29), we’ll celebrate by me eating a cicada on live film, and posting the video on the blog as well as Facebook. The preparation method will be chosen by Jason, our DGB leader, with additional input from you, our fans, and I’ll record the whole process from start to finish. Let the adding begin!

What have I done… what have I done…

2 comments on “Do Cicadas Taste Like Cheetos?

    • I draw the line at live. Roasted, sure. Pan fried, sure. Stir fried with veggies, sure. Raw with the guts oozing between my teeth… no way. Please be sure to head over to the Facebook page and Like us so we can watch Chef eat a plateful.

Leave a Reply

